Customer reviews for GerberLife The Grow-Up® Plan

GerberLife The Grow-Up® Plan

The Gerber Life GROW-UP® Plan is a whole life insurance policy that protects your child while starting a nest egg for the future. For less than $1 a week, you can give your child a lifetime of life insurance protection worth at least $5,000.
Overall rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(844 reviews) 844
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 844 reviews
5 Stars
630
4 Stars
102
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
23
1 Star
47
769 out of 833(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for The Grow-Up® Plan
Review 1 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrendous customer service

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from Pasadena, MD, USA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Customer service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I called on Wedneday, March 6, 2013 to speak with someone about an electronic signature problem when filling out a loan request form. The man I spoke with told me that the reason my brother's name was showing up on the eletronic signature was because his name was put as the online profile name. We are both under the same online account, but with different policies. I asked if it would be okay to use his name as the electronic signature, and he said yes, it wouldn't be a problem.
Well, two days later I check the status and it claims the loan request was denied due to a "bad signature." I NEVER received an email saying the signature was bad. So I immediately called customer service and explained the situation, this time to a woman. She put me on hold, and when she came back, she claimed that because my brother's name was used on the online profile, it was considered a bad signature. When I told her that it would have been helpful if the man I spoke with on Wednesday told me this, she LIED and said, "I listened to the phone call; you never asked if using your brothers name would be okay." When I told her that I did indeed ask, she lied again and said I did not. My mother was in the room with me at the time of BOTH calls and stated that I did ask the man about the signature because I was worried it wouldn't go through.
Then, the woman on the phone suggested that I was lying and that I could submit another loan request in 5 days time, which is completely unacceptable.
I was not given correct information the first time I called. It is not right to penalize me for the shortcomings of the staff.
Also, when I got off the phone with the woman, I went to change the online account name, and changed it to my name, but now my brother will have the same problem if he should need a loan request. The system really needs to be fixed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just GREAT! It works as a preapproved loan any time u need $s

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
from US
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great resource in these unstable times.
I got these almost exclusively for the "borrow/payback" feature.
This is about the only way low income, people with bad credit or other financial "black marks" could get a loan period!
As such, it helps people be able to EASILY, WITH NO HASSLES borrow their accrued amount and receive it within 2 weeks.
Even if you don't need a loan for a specific thing, you could take out a "loan" to get a sum of cash to put somewhere and let sit to accrue interest, to have an immediately available "nest egg" when you may need money now for emergencies.
I also love the "you can pay it back whenever and however you want" feature.
I designate any extra amounts over my nest egg & payback monthly amounts to additional payback amounts.
I love the ease of the online "eservice" too!
I can immediate see the loan amounts whittling down, and plan my varying payment amounts accordingly.
Best of all, it works in a "just ask and you SHALL receive manner. You need it? you got it!
It's so smooth and effortless for both sides!
Another awesome function is this, it's PERPETUAL!
Get loan payback loan=get loan payback loan =again and again!
This is an awesome feature to use for expensive things junior/juniorette or the family may need as the years roll by. Junior needs glasses,dentistry/braces? borrow/payback - junior needs money for a car? borrow/payback - junior needs money for college books/lodging? borrow/payback! No waiting, no hassles, NO BEING DENIED AND EMBARRASSED!
This could even be used as a form of medical insurance or addition to your ins., for things not covered.
They also have a "College Fund" that works like this, so if you had both, and your child would be covered with their neccesities, dreams, and sadly even if tragedy struck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible bill payment Methods and Procedure

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age: 34-44
Gender: Female
Customer service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gerber is a decent company that offers reasonable insurance plans, but the options to pay either by phone or via website the process is misleading. Paying your premium by phone through automated, does not tell you the customer that you are actually setting up payments to withdrawn from your account monthly until the automatic gives you a summary of your payment the system quickly say your monthly payments of specified dollar amount will be deducted each month. The web clearly has the option to pay next to your premium or loan but does not give other payment amount options. The highest payment amount or pervious paid amount is next to premium were what should be next to it is all payment amount options. I should not have to click this or that before I get to the other payment amount options. And also do not click the back arrow in the website because Gerber system is setup to see this as a payment, Why? I don't know but it does. Why in the world can't a customer make a one time payment on the phone or why can't the payment amount options be clearly next to each premium a person holds. I'm so disappointmented in Gerber's payment procedure it is so diliberate and misleading. Information Technology Please improve this Im really considering changing my families insurance company. Its somethings that should not be a worry and I do not want worry about Gerber taking unautorized funds out of my account.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you Gerber Life

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from COLORADO SPRINGS, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a lot of friends and family that have at least one policy with Gerber Life Ins all of them recommended Gerber to me all the time, however I didn't think life insurance was important. Until recently I was diagnosed with a extremely serious and terminal auto-immune disease, 95% people with this disease have up to five years life expectancy. Well my only child is four now and it dawned on me that I AM NOT going to be around forever, we both needed Life insurance. Then I asked my friends and family with policies about cost, didn't think I could afford ANY insurance at all being a single and disabled mom with no help from the Bug's dad. Then I was informed how affordable GERBER INS is. So I quickly checked it out and found out that a "Grow-Up" plan was very affordable even I could pay for it. SO I SIGNED UP right there and then and have been a VERY proud client since 09/06/2012. Now I can someday R.I.P knowing my son James "Bug" will be just fine. THANK YOU GERBER INS!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Process of enrollment

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
from Tennessee, USA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a grandparent wanting to contribute to my grandchildren's future I enrolled both grandsons online. I signed up to have the premiums auto deducted from my checking account.
When I called to see what the process was for me to be notified about when the premiums would be deducted from checking account, I was told upon acceptance of the policies the premiums would be subtracted.
When I logged on to EService to check the status, only one of the premiums were deducted and the other was to be deducted 4 days later.
When enrolling I selected the option to have the premiums auto subtracted from my checking account and for doing so I received a very small incentive.
I am currently considering if this is the best option for me to help with my grandchildren's future. Maybe the auto premium is not a good idea if I feel I will have to monitor the process.
I signed up on 1.31.12 and have had to make 3 phones calls - this does not leave a good impression.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

To many policy options that change

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from Alda, NE 68810, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I get mailed gerber life insurance policy stuff in the mail at least once a month, and I think its a bill and its NOT. little did I know that I paid the bill and sent it back and then my rates go up as I did not know they would do that because I did not know I was adding onto my policy plan. I would highly recommend putting THIS NOT A BILL on your letters you send out because they look ALOT like a BILL. My policy in the beginning was 19.08 now its 25.44. I did not want the 25.44. So I was confused on the Policy form you sent out. So please try and put THIS IS NOT A BILL on these forms because if people are anything like me they WILL get confused and make a payment plan without realizing your picking something to increase your plan. Gerber Life does good work for our children but the papers need to be more organized stating if its a BILL or a form to CHANGE POLICY. Thank You!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loan History

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Frisco
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Customer service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am really disappointed in your loan accounting. I have had repeated problems with loan payments and my accounts. One time you guys applied all my payments to my policy and overpaid my policies. Now when I try to see history all I can see is the balance.
Can't you show a record of my payments and interest online or do I have to call every time? I never get a receipt of my payments and have no idea if you are getting them.
I don't understand why you have a button that says "loan history" but don't show any. I am not sure I trust that you guys are taking care of my money and I don't want to have to police you.
The man I spoke to on the phone was very nice, but I felt no resolution except that I would be sent copies from the loan department for the period I requested.
I don't feel that I should have to call everytime I want to know if you are receiving my payments.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Deal Around

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
from Nashua NH
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got a solicitation initially. Junk mail per usual BUT decided to open it up and look at it a little more carefully only because the name Gerber has been around since I was a kid some 50+ years ago. I called, asked some questions, verified legitimacy and then compared to other companies with same type of offers. They cannot be beat. I called back and set up an account for my 12 year old. $ 20 a month gives her whole life coverage that doubles at 21 years old. Then she owns the policy and I have set the ground work for a solid start for her in this important part of her financial life. Always knowledgeable and friendly staff when I call. I actually have FIVE polices with Gerber now. It is not just baby stuff. Surf the site or talk to a rep about all the various policies available you might need at a reasonable price. Easy, EASY to do business with. A++
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I Cancel my kids accounts

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I open a Grow Up plan hoping it was best for my kids but after I received the package with all the info. I got together with my husband and decide we would change it to a College Plan so I call costumer service and they told me just to mail the package back and they will just change it and send me the (College Plan Package) well I did not receive it. In the mean time they were taking money every month out of my account. Then I called and Costumer service was rude and told me that it was too late and there was nothing they could do the package got there 1-2 days late, never heard that before ??? so I just cancel my account lost money, but I don't have to deal with it. I have peace of mind. I rader save my money old style under my matress :).... anyway too Good to be TRUE... I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS PLANS READ CAREFULLY EVERY WORD AND ASK IF NOT CLEAR>
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
from Owosso, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
I took out policies when my grandchildren were infants. Some time later I found myself in a financial crunch and called Gerber to cancel the policies. The Representative told me I could reduce the amounts of coverage which would reduce the premiums, so instead of canceling I did just that. I reduced the coverage down to the minimum of $5,000.00. A little while later when I got back on my feet (so to speak), I contacted Gerber to increase the coverage and I was told that I could not and if I wanted to increase the coverage, I would have to take out an additional policy and pay the required premium for my grandchildren at the age they are now (which I believe was only a year). That disappointed me because I was never told that when I reduced the coverage. Now I am in the process of taking out additional policies before they are another year older.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

On Line - Customer Service Issues

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Customer avatar
from Everett MA
Age: 34-44
Gender: Female
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First and foremost when you call you have to punch in a ton of information to wait on hold to finally get an operator who asks you the same information, so why bother with the auto info if it is not going to go over to the CSR 10-20 minutes of life you can never get back ..... They are persisant in getting all the information before you even get to say why you are calling.. even if I need just the mailing address. I am over paid by several years so I can NOT pay online which stinks. I spoke with a supervisor who was going to email me link and even told me he was going into a meeting and would discuss a 1x large pay so we can pre pay the policies. I never got the link and then I called back left a message that I did not get the link and never received a call back.. So i waited 20 minutes to give him a message to NOT get a call back.. Yeah Go ME.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Gift to My Grandchildren Ever

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
from Krakow Wisconsin,USA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 3 grandchildren,(So Far).when my children were born my parents took out small policies for them as they did for my siblings children.So when my children started their families, I did the same .First was Monster,his mom told him that I (grammy) did this for him so he can go on to school when he gets older.(He wants to be a scientist).When my granddaughter Beeps was born,I let my son know what I had done,at first (maybe being a new parent)he was upset with me.He didn't understand that this was for her future,he thought that I felt she may die at an early age,but after explaining the way it works,he thought that this was the best gift she had ever gotten. Now Coops has arrived and I have done the same for him.I will pay the premiums till I die.My gift to my grandbabies,Thank You for being there for them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gerber Grow-Up Plan has great advantages.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Gerber Grow-Up Plan over 8 years ago for my youngest son. I have paid it ever faithful. Since buying this plan my son's father and I have divorced and it has been a tough road. Now it's time for my son to start driving and go off to college. These adventures are not cheap. However I just found out that the Grow-Up plan that I bought all those years ago has a cash value that has built up over the years. This is so wonderful, because we can use that money for starting out in college or as a down payment on my son's first car. I don't even have to cancel the policy, I can just barrow what we need and pay it back. I am so grateful to Gerber for developing a plan such as the Grow-Up Plan. It has been a life saver in this tough time for my son and myself.
Thank you Gerber !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

computer glitch?

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
from pa
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as long as i have had gerber for my daughter i never had a problem i have ebill and i ahve always gotten an email when the bill is done until recently when i received a letter in the mail stating i hadnt paid i checked and no email was ever sent to since december its now february so i logged on and for some reason you guys now have my old email address which is years old back in so it was sending the emails to an expired email address i dont know how this would happen since that email was changed and void for years now and it always sent to my email i use now up unitl now which is a little upsetting since now i have to pay a late few for something even though i wasnt getting the emails i rely on the emails i pay everything ebill so if theres no bill its easy to forget
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grow Up Plan is an Excellent Product

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer avatar
from Maxwell, NE
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased Grow up Plan for two Grandsons. This plan features excellent prices for a whole life policy that not only provides protection, but doubles when they turn 18 and gives them chances to add to the policy later on. A great nest egg starter that includes protection and is very affordable.. Unfortunately we lost one Grandson at only a few months old, but the protection of this policy along with the outstanding and excellent customer service of the Gerber company, helped ease some of the financial burdens for our children at a very difficult time.
We greatly recommend the Grow up Plan, having recently purchased a second policy for our grandson, and will definately purchase this plan that gives them so many opportunities for any future grandchildren.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good luck getting in touch with the company!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
from Bossier City, LA, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Customer service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of doing business 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I sell life insurance myself and have quite a bit on my children already. However, I purchased Gerber because the amount of coverage was smaller and less expensive than anything I sell.
I initially tried completing my registration online however, the website was down and advised me to call. I called and held on the line for 10 minutes without getting to a representative. So, I e-mailed customer service asking for a call back as soon as possible.
I didn't get a response however, got an invoice in the mail. I called the number on file and the recording said the hold times were longer than normal. So, I have e-mailed again… still waiting on a response.
This is unacceptable customer service in my opinion and would have never happened with my company.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
from Florida
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I always took a $10,000 life policy on my children when they were born. They are all married now and the policies are still in force.
When my grandchildren started arriving i I did the same thing only now the Gerber Grow Up Plan for $10,000, doubles to $20,000 when the child turns 1 years old, but has the same small annual premium.
Most young adults will let the life insurance policies lap. Instead I pay them for the initial 20 years and then the parents will be in financial positions to take over the premiums until their children are mature adults and can take over the payments themselves.
$20,000 is not a fortune but it will pay the hardship of the cost of a death and perhaps a little left over.
It is worth the price for the peace of mind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to date with technology!!!!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age: 34-44
Gender: Female
Customer service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of doing business 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think that this policy would have been great! Except for one thing...they only take Visa and MasterCard. I only have an American Express card as I don't like a lot of debt, so I do the prepaid CC that has NO FEES! Like most people we work hard for our money and I don't like paying other people what I don't have to, but Gerber here doesn't accept American Express. I have tried paying my policy several times using my Mother-in-laws card, which is Visa, and still the money never came out of the account. It's ridiculous that you can't pay for something that you really wanted. Hopefully they can work this out!! I would recommend this product because it is a great value for the money, but their payment acceptance is pure bologny!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

review from a previous bussines owner/ and bussines finance major.

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being a bussiness finance student, all of my teachers are always advising me to even over-analise any purchase. I have review and investigated this plan, and i love it. I love the fact that I can have peace of mind knowing that if anything happens to any of my children, I won't have the added burden of having to end up financially broke because of the funeral. The best part, is that my child can decide later to continue with the life insurance, and it doubles, or he can have the money for college. One of my young sisters recently died, and besides having to deal with the horible pain, we have to deal with paying for her funeral. Life happens and we must be realistic, and is better to be protected by the Gerber plan.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Grow-Up® Plan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Service is absolutely fantastic

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from Missouri, USA
Age: 55-64
Gender: Female
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of doing business 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently enrolled my son in the grow-up plan using the online system. I found it to be extremely easy and understandable even for an old dawg from the Ozarks!! I used the toll-free number this evening to change the auto pay account information. It was very quick and efficient. I then spoke with a representative to change my password. Ms. Katy is indeed the most helpful and conscientious customer service person I have had the pleasure of working with in a very long time. First impressions mean a lot to us old vets. I will continue to recommend Gerber Life services to all my friends and coffee drinkers at several "tables of knowledge" (coffee shops) in the Ozarks. Keep up the excellent dedication to service !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>